Burntisland once had its own Town Council (until 1976 when it was succeeded by Kirkcaldy District Council), most decisions are now taken by Fife Council. Burntisland is part of Burntisland, Kinghorn and Western Kirkcaldy ward and has three councillors.

The Royal Burgh of Burntisland Community Council exists “to give local people a voice in the decisions taken by local authorities and other public bodies”.

It is also involved in many activities and projects. A recent list –

Refurbishment of The War Memorial

Regular consultation with Police Scotland

Organising Beach Clean-ups

Anti litter and Dog Fouling Campaign

Installation of Points for dog scoops and bags

New Piay Equipment on The Links

Refurbishment of The Spider Park

Production of Burntisland Community Action Plan

Refurbishment of community owned Fixtures in Burgh Chambers

Organise the Annual Community Award nominations

Work Closely with Burntisland Heritage Trust to conserve the Kirkton Church

Organise A Games Day and Exiles Reception

Work with the school to hold an annual Scots Verse Competition

Organise A Remembrance Day Service

Assist in formation of a Community Emergency Group

Pressing for a second pharmacy

These are just a few of the activities undertaken by members over and above normal Community Council business

RBBCC is often looking for new members

Local (Fife) Councillors Ward 10 – Burntisland, Kinghorn and Western Kirkcaldy map

(The current version of Fife Council has existed since 1996 when the two tier Region and District system was abolished.)


Cllr Lesley Backhouse SNP

Cllr. Gordon Langlands Labour


Cllr Kathleen Leslie Conservative


Surgery info

Details of last three elections


Council Election 2017: Burntisland, Kinghorn and Western Kirkcaldy (Ward 9) candidates


David Torrance MSP SNP (Kirkcaldy)

List Members (Mid Scotland and Fife)

Baker, Clair Scottish Labour

Fraser, Murdo  Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Lockhart, Dean Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Rowley, Alex Scottish Labour

Ruskell, Mark Scottish Green Party

Smith, Liz Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Stewart, Alexander Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party


Lesley Laird Labour (Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath)

Scotland – 6 MEPs